New Zealand Māori Council

Statutory representative body under the Māori Community Development Act 1962.

New Zealand Mãori Districts

NZ Māori Council is made up of a collective of Māori Committees within a Māori District. All Māori Districts are required to adhere to the Māori Community Development Act 1962 sec 8-13.


  1. You may notify the local District Māori Council in your area of your intention to establish a new Māori Committee.
  2. Confirm the Māori Committee area/boundaries with the District Māori Council.
  3. Place a public notice of Māori Committee elections in the local newspaper.
  4. The Meetings held are to elect 7 members to constitute each Māori Committee and to appoint 2 members to go forward to the District Māori Council.

Te Tai Tokerau
Te Tai Tokerau
Encompassing the top of the north island from above the Tamaki Makaurau district.
Tamaki Makaurau
The Tamaki Makaurau Area covers from the Tamaki ki te Tonga boundary up to Helensville & Orewa
Tamaki ki te Tonga
This District is often referred to as South Auckland and generally covers the northern most area of Tainui.
The District rohe includes the fertile Hauraki plains and the lush Coromandel Peninsula.
The Mighty Waikato District Maori council is centered around the river & Hamilton while reaching up to the Bombay hills.
Commonly known as the king country, covers the west coast from Mokau to Kawhia and across to include towns such as Otorohanga, Te Kuiti, and Bennydale.
Te Arawa
Boasting Rotorua as the geothermal center and Tourist capital of New Zealand while representing one of the largest Maori populations in the country.
Tauranga Moana
Tauranga Moana
Tauranga Moana covers the Northern Bay of Plenty cities and towns up to the begining of the Hauraki District and across to the Waikato District.
This District borders Te Tairawhiti, Tauranga Moana and Te Arawa districts and includes Opotiki and Whakatane.
Te Tai Rawhiti
Gisborne is the jewel of the east coast and is the center of this district. It continues around the coast and around the tip of cape Runaway
Primarily covering the rohe of Taranaki which spreads to the base of Ruapehu and down the Whanganui river.
Centered in Fielding and spreads from Otaki, through New Plymouth and up to the Central Plateau.
Takitimu covers one of the larger north island Districts. It includes the cities of Masterton, Napier, Hastings and the many other towns and communities on the east coast.
Wellington District covers from the Rimutaka ranges, along the Akatarawa forest through to Peka Peka on the Kapiti coast.
Te Tau Ihu
Te Tau Ihu District covers the top of the South Island (Te Waipounamu) representing Maori communities from Motueka through to Blenheim and includes the beautiful Golden bay and Marlborough sounds.
Te Waipounamu
Te Waipounamu
The rohe of Te Waipounamu District spans the south island approx. from Rakiura to Kaikoura and across to Karamea.